Sports Hall of Fame Inductees Announced for Class of 2024

Rockhurst will honor and induct seven newest members to its Sports Hall of Fame on Friday, Oct. 11, 2024 as part of Alumni Reunion Week.

Tim Mauck ’90 – Football

Tim Mauck of the great Class of 1990 sparked a Hawklet offense that averaged 34 points per game during a State Runner-Up finish in 1989. At tight end, Tim broke the Rockhurst single season receptions record with 43 catches, totaling 628 yards and seven touchdowns. That still stands as the most productive season for a tight end in program history. But Tim may best be remembered for recovering a fumble in the end zone in the fourth overtime to beat Jefferson City in the State Semifinals, in what Athletic Director Al Davis called “The Game of the Decade.” He was selected as 1st Team All-State tight end and was also named a 1st Team Jesuit All-American. Tim won the Bukaty Award as a senior, given to the team’s best leader on and off the field. Baseball returned to The Rock as a varsity sport in 1989, and Tim was a varsity letterman in his junior and senior seasons before playing football at New Mexico State University.
Matt Darby ’00 – Soccer

Matt Darby of the great Class of 2000 was pivotal in Rock Soccer winning the first State Championships in program history. In 1998, Rockhurst did not lose a match, going 27-0-1 en route to its first-ever soccer title. As a midfielder, Matt played both sides of the ball and the defense allowed just 10 goals all year. Matt’s senior year squad recorded 15 shutouts in 29 matches while the team went 27-1-1. In that season, Rockhurst defeated #1 nationally ranked Marquette University High School. Matt and the Hawklet defense went on to blank SLUH in the State Championship and Rock capped its repeat title with a #10 national ranking. Matt was named 1st Team All-State and the Missouri Defensive Player of the Year and continued playing at Marquette University. He was named head coach of the program in 2019. Through five seasons under Coach Darby, Rockhurst is 103-14-3, winning State Championships in 2021, 2022, and 2023, as well as the program’s first National Championship in 2023 after going 24-0-0.
Kevin Ward ’00 - Golf

Kevin Ward of the great Class of 2000 helped make Rockhurst golf a dominant force in the late-90s and into the 2000s. Kevin made the varsity team as a sophomore and was a District medalist before helping The Rock win the 1998 State Championship and was an All-State finisher in 14th place. His junior season in 1999 was even more impressive for the Hawklets. Kevin and his teammates went undefeated, winning all seven duals and all seven tournaments, which had at least 16 teams each. Kevin was again All-State, placing 5th individually while Rock won the State Meet by 12 strokes. As a senior, Kevin helped the team win Rockhurst’s first three-peat in golf, as the Hawklets edged out Chaminade by one stroke at State. Kevin went on to play at the University of Kansas.
Nick Vignatelli ’06 – Swim & Dive

Nick Vignatelli of the great Class of 2006 is the second AquaHawk swimmer to be inducted into the Rockhurst Sports Hall of Fame. Nick was a four-year letterman who helped The Rock win the 2005 swim & dive State Championship; the first of many for the program. As a junior, Nick was a member of the 200 Medley Relay team that won State in record-breaking time. He also placed 5th in the 50 Free, giving Rock valuable points to help beat Blue Springs by 12 and bring home the program’s first title. As a senior, Nick was 2nd in the 50 Free in 21.37 and earned All-American honors. Nick and his AquaHawk teammates also won the 200 Medley again as Rockhurst cruised to back-to-back State Titles. For his individual and relay career, Nick was All-State eight times and All-American five times.
Michael McGee ’09 – Golf

Michael McGee of the great Class of 2009 stands out even in a storied program like Rockhurst golf. As a freshman, Michael made the varsity team on the defending State Champions. He placed 6th at Districts and 16th at State as the Hawklets were again the Missouri State Champs. That would be the first of three team titles Michael helped win. As a sophomore Michael was the top Rockhurst player at State with an 11th Place finish as the team took 3rd. He then accepted the leadership role as an upperclassman as The Rock won both the 2008 and 2009 team championships. Michael finished 14th as a junior, and was co-individual State Champ as a senior while the Hawklets won by an incredible 23 strokes. In his historic senior season, Michael averaged 73.7 strokes per 18 holes. He was the program’s third individual State Champ, but the first to ever pair it with a team title. Michael went on to play at Indiana University. 
Nathan Scheelhaase ’09 – Football

Nathan Scheelhaase of the great Class of 2009 was the definition of a dual-threat quarterback. While the starter for two full seasons, Rockhurst’s offense was unstoppable. In 2007, the Hawkles averaged 38 points per game en route to the program’s fourth-ever undefeated State Championship season and #20 national ranking. Nathan totaled 2,800 yards of total offense, throwing for 20 touchdowns and rushing for another 14 scores. He won the Simone Award for the most outstanding player in Kansas City – the first non-senior winner in the award’s 25-year history, and was also the Missouri Gatorade Player of the year. Rockhurst went 10-2 in Nathan’s senior season, as he totaled 2,600 more yards and 33 total touchdowns. Nathan was also a three-year letterman in basketball and a four-year letterman in track & field. He was an All-State sprinter and member of the school-record 4x200 Relay team. He went on to play at the University of Illinois and is still the program’s leader in career total offense.

Learn more about Rockhurst's Sports Hall of Fame here.