Modern & Classical Language
 
Preparing young men, in the Jesuit tradition, to communicate across linguistic and cultural boundaries is the fundamental mission of the Department of Modern and Classical Languages.  Courses are offered in French, Latin, Mandarin Chinese, and Spanish.  Classical Greek is also offered to select upperclassmen.  Class methods emphasize oral comprehension and speaking ability as well as reading and written expression.  Courses also promote an understanding and appreciation for the cultures, history, geography and literature of the respective language. 

Communication in all forms is a valuable and necessary skill to prepare Ignatian leaders for our modern world.   Studies in Modern and Classical Languages prepare young men for college, service, travel and future professional endeavors.

Modern & Classical Language Department Faculty

Mr. Bert Roney, MA - Department Chair

Email: broney@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x265

Voice Mail: 246

 

Dr. Michael Cusick, PhD

Email: mcusick@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x265

Voice Mail: 226

 

Mr. Stephen Derrington, MA

Email: sderrington@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x318

Voicemail: 241

 

Ms. Martha Drone, MEd

Email: mdrone@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x265

Voice Mail: 229

 

Mr. Stephen Kuehner, BA

Email: skuehner@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x265

Voice Mail: 227



Ms. Emily Lane, MA

Email: elane@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x265

Voice Mail: 391




Mr. Jeremy McElduff, MA

Email: jmcelduf@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x265

Voice Mail: 228



Mr. Ian O'Hagan, MA (Alumni Service Corps)

Email: iohagan@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x280

Voice Mail: 275

 

 

Mrs. Shu Chun Shao, MEd

Email: sshao@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x265

Voice Mail: 225

 

Mr. Richard Staihr, EdS

Email: rstaihr@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x265

Voice Mail: 243

 

Bookmark and Share

Rockhurst High School

Established in 1910 - Ad Majorem Dei Gloriam

9301 State Line Road, Kansas City, MO 64114-3299     816.363.2036