English

The goals of the English Department are to give the students significant experience with a wide variety of forms of written expression so that the students will be skilled in and comfortable with the writing process and to offer students a rich and varied experience with literature so they will be able to read with comprehension, with appreciation, and with analytic insight.  

Through their writing, reading, and values-based discussions on topics ranging from personal experience and reading to philosophy and contemporary issues, students are led to become academically competent as critical thinkers and writers as well as better aware of their own beliefs and those of others. 

English Department Faculty

Mr. Mike Wickenhauser, Phd. Cand. - Department Chair

Email: mwickenhauser@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x270

Voice Mail: 253

 

Mr. Jim Bascom, MA

Email: jbascom@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x270

Voice Mail: 239

 

Mr. Frank Griffin, MA

Email: fgriffin@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x270

Voice Mail: 247

 
 

Mr. Andrew Hagedorn, MA

Email: ahagedorn@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x270

Voice Mail: 248

 

Mr. Matthew Hicks, BA

Email: mhicks@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x270

Voice Mail: 389

 

Mr. Daniel Hrdlicka, BA

Email: dhrdlicka@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x217

Voice Mail: 217

 
 

Mr. Brandon Jones, MA

Email: bjones@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x118

Voice Mail: 118

 

Mr. Sean Lawlor, MA

Email: slawlor@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x270

Voice Mail: 249

 

Mrs. Laurie Prater, MA

Email: lprater@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x270

Voice Mail: 259

 

Mr. Alan Ratermann, BA

Email: aratermann@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x270

Voice Mail: 286

 

Mr. David Spitz, BA

Email: dspitz@rockhursths.edu

Telephone: 816-363-2036 x270

Voice Mail: 236

 

Bookmark and Share

Rockhurst High School

Established in 1910 - Ad Majorem Dei Gloriam

9301 State Line Road, Kansas City, MO 64114-3299     816.363.2036